Skip to content

Why Is It Important?

Play is the key to the way children learn.

Early experiences can affect the way children grow and develop. We want the children to have positive experiences which will help them grow and learn, giving them the security and confidence to become well balanced individuals.

Through play in the Foundation Stage, the children can learn new skills, build positive relationships, develop their social skills and learn about the world around them. We encourage independence to aid problem solving and we aim to give children a wide range of experiences.

The Foundation Stage is also the time when children develop better communication skills, gain a wider vocabulary and begin to engage in early literacy and numeracy activities. Children learn better by doing, and thus by taking part in creative activities and using their imagination, they can make sense of their experiences.

What Does It Involve?

The Early Years Foundation Stage has 4 main principles for the development of young children. These are:

  •  A Unique Child     

Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.    

  • Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

  • Enabling Environments 

Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.

  • Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities. Practitioners teach children by ensuring challenging, playful opportunities across the prime and specific areas of learning and development.

How your child will be learning

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  1. Communication and language.
  2. Physical development; and
  3. Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your   child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it’s suitable for very young children, and it’s designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Skip to content